7 Wine Regions in New Zealand you Need to Visit

Wine Circle magazine is perhaps known for its detailed description of New Zealand’s wine regions. We cover the sevenmost renowned wine regions, giving everything from the size to the wines offered.

Gisborne Wine Region

While slightly under 2,000 hectares Gisborne is known for its stunning scenery as well as some of the best vintages. Producing Merlot, Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Pinot Gris, and Viognier wines, Gisborne is critically acclaimed and satisfies every palate.

The third-largest producer in New Zealand, Wine Circle also covers the tours. Sunlit greenery and breath-taking vistas dominate this region, making it one of the most enjoyable tours before, during and after the wine tastings.

7 Wine Regions in New Zealand you Need to Visit Gisborne Wine Region - 7 Wine Regions in New Zealand you Need to Visit

Auckland Wine Region

Auckland is the capital of New Zealand and is positioned across a vast region of geographically diverse wine regions with a heavy emphasis on its volcanic enriched clay soil. This diversity provides variety in wines grown. Syrah, Merlot, Malbec, Pinot Gris, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Chardonnay predominate.

Hawke’s Bay Wine Region

The oldest winery region in New Zealand covers 10 hectares and is the second-largest producer in the country. The mild climate offers a long growing season and, as a result, produces an expansive variety of grapes. These include Syrah, Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, Malbec, Pinot Gris and Merlot.

The Central Otago Region

When you discuss famous wine regionsin New Zealand, Central Otago is always high on the list. The region consists of two islands, north and south. The terrain varies from high altitude snow-capped peaks and deep ravines to the milder climate of the northern island.

In the north, the flatter landscape allows for a great diversity of grapes to be grown. The southern island is known for some of the most intensely flavoured white wines anywhere, with bold and vivid distinctions that are worth trying.

Canterbury/Waipara Region

The Southern Alps, as they are called in New Zealand, are neighbours to this region. The climate is cool and dry and the growing season is exceptionally long. The result is wines of a flavour richness and intensity renowned throughout the country.

The dominant grape grown is the one used for the Pinot Noir wine, but Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc strains are well worth a try from the same soil and climate. At a little over 1400 hectares, its production nearing 3% of the country’s total is a notable accomplishment.

Nelson Wine Region

The region is often described as sunny and spectacular. A popular location for many tours with a mild climate and altitudes high and low. With such diversity, it grows Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and primarily Sauvignon Blanc. 1100 hectares and more than 2% of all wines are made here.

Marlborough Wine Region

This is the largest wine region in New Zealand. On almost 23,000 hectares, Marlborough produces over 75% of all New Zealand wines. This classic Mediterranean climate and the versatility of soils give Marlborough a diverse range of wine grapes.

The Sauvignon Blanc is the dominant wine but Chardonnay, Riesling, Pinot Noir, Viognier are grown as well.

When people around the world talk of New Zealand wines they are often referring to the major wine exporter of the country, the Marlborough region.